Start   Profiles Menue
zur deutschen Version

Junkers Ju 87 of Schlachtgeschwader 2 "Immelmann"

Luftwaffe Aviation Art - Color profiles by Simon Schatz

 
 
Junkers Ju 87 SG2 Immelmann
 
 
Markings

Junkers Ju 87 G-2 W.Nr. 494110 <-+-, Stab/SG 2
Junkers Ju 87 D-5 W.Nr. unknown, +TU, 10. (Pz)/SG 2
Junkers Ju 87 D-5 W.Nr. unknown, +VU, 10. (Pz)/SG 2


References / profiles

Luftwaffe over Czech Territory 1945
Jiri Rajlich Stanislav Kokoska, Ales Janda, JAPO pages 121 to 127


History

On the May 8th 1945 the remnants of the staff flight and the 2nd Gruppe of SG 2 decided to disband near Lake Kummer on Czech territory (Bohemia). In order to avoid becoming Russian prisoners of war they decided to fly as much personnel as possible to the closest airfield (Kitzingen) occupied by the Americans. Seven aircraft take off. The rest of personnel have to risk making it the hard way-walking. The convoy was almost wiped out and only a few manage to escape. The seven aircraft are also attacked by Russian fighters but were able to escape without losses. After about two hours they land in Kitzingen and six officer, six sergeants and one female civilian surrender to the Americans.


List of the aircraft and personnel that landed in Kitzingen:

Type
Ju 87G-2
Ju 87D-5
Ju 87D-5
FW 190A-8
FW 190A-6
FW 190F-8
FW 190F-8


Additional informations

Ju 87G-2 W.Nr. 494110, Black <-+-, Stab/SG 2
The aircraft flown by Hans-Ulrich Rudel was painted RLM 70/71/65. The wing commander’s markings were painted black with a white border. The crosses and swastika were painted in the simplified fashion of the last months of the war. The six digit work number was painted black. The spinner originally painted RLM 70 was supplemented with a white spiral. The tail plane had two white diagonal lines, common on SG 2 aircraft. The left wing still had the yellow V. These served to identify Luftflotte 4 aircraft. Hans-Ulrich Rudel crash landed this aircraft in order not to hand the Americans an air worthy machine.

Ju 87D-5 W.Nr. unknown, +TU, 10. (Pz.)/SG 2
This aircraft transported amongst others a civilian female, probably a girlfriend of one of the crew members. It was probably for this reason that the aircraft was not deliberately crash landed. The aircraft was also painted RLM 70/71/65. The former call letters and yellow fuselage band were probably painted over with RLM 02. The rear main landing gear pants were also painted the same way. Crosses and swastika were the same as on Rudel’s machine. The yellow V under the left wing and the two white lines on the tail plane were also there. Further peculiarities of this aircraft were a mounted glider tow, no dive brakes. Noticeable are the missing Geschwader call letters T6.

Ju 87D-5 W.Nr.unknown, +VU, 10. (Pz)/SG 2
The machine flown by First Lieutenant Schwirblat was also crash landed and rendered unflyable. The camouflage was slightly different from the other aircraft. The fuselage band was painted over; crosses and swastika had a black border. Geschwader markings were also missing.



I want to thank Andrey Arthy who gave permission to use the information from his website as a basis for my article.
 
top of page
 
 
 
 
Junkers Ju 87 Stuka
Publications:
 

Junkers Ju 87 Stuka

 

Robert Michulec, Mushroom Model Publications

The three Ju 87 color profiles originated from a series of color profiles from the above mentioned book. My thanks go to Mushroom Publications for the chance to publish my profiles.

 
     
 
 
 
 
 
  meet the Author:      
 

Simon Schatz

     
         
  1978 I was born in Vienna and I am working as technical employee in an architect's office. I am building plastic models since I am 12. It started with a F-16 Fighting Falcon in 1/32, which was followed by a few cars and trucks. A Heinkel He111 H-6 in 1/72 brood my interest for the German Luftwaffe. Since 2001 I am creating color profiles also.

Some of them have been already published in relevant magazines and books. The motto for building models and drawing profiles is the same: Learning by Doing. To practise my passion it is required to collect the necessary documentation, an expensive, but interesting hobby, especially when I can obtain rare second hand aviation antiquars.
  Simon Schatz  
         
  Email:      
       
         
 
 
 
 
Start   Profiles Menue   Sitemap
top of page
   
   
This page:  PROFILES: Junkers Ju 87 des Schlachtgeschwaders 2 "Immelmann"
was last modified on: Sep 14, 2008
The URL of the page is: http://www.rlm.at/cont/profil18_e.htm

Translation into English by Werner Stocker (Ft. Myers, FL USA).
  Copyright www.rlm.at and the contributing author(s). All Rights Reserved. Used with permission.

Terms of use: All material within this site is protected under copyright and may only be reproduced for personal use. You must contact the Author(s) and/or Editor for permission to use any material on this site for any purpose other than private use!

Start   Profilübersicht
to the english version

Junkers Ju 87 des Schlachtgeschwaders 2 "Immelmann"

Luftwaffe Aviation Art - Profile von Simon Schatz

 
 
Junkers Ju 87 SG2 Immelmann
 
 
Markierungen

Junkers Ju 87 G-2, W.Nr. 494110, <-+-, Stab/SG 2
Junkers Ju 87 D-5, W.Nr unbekannt, +TU, 10.(Pz.)/SG 2
Junkers Ju 87 D-5, W.Nr unbekannt, +VU, 10.(Pz.)/SG 2


Referenzfotos / Profile

Luftwaffe over Czech Territory 1945
Jiři Rajlich, Stanislav Kokoška, Aleš Janda - JAPO Seiten 121 bis 127


Geschichte

8. Mai 1945, Kummer am See: Die Reste vom Stab des SG 2 und der II. Gruppe des SG 2 lösen sich in Böhmen auf. Um nicht in russische Kriegsgefangenschaft zu geraten, wird entschieden soviel Personal wie möglich auszufliegen und den von den Amerikanern besetzten Flugplatz Kitzingen zu erreichen. Insgesamt starten sieben Maschinen. Das restliche Personal muss auf dem Landweg in den Westen fliehen. Der Konvoi wird allerdings aufgerieben und nur wenige überleben den Angriff. Auch die sieben am Nachmittag gestarteten Maschinen werden von russischen Jagdflugzeigen angegriffen können aber ohne Verluste entkommen. Nach etwa zwei Stunden landen die Maschinen in Kitzingen und sechs Offiziere, sechs Feldwebel und eine Zivilistin ergeben sich den Amerikanern.


Auflistung der in Kitzingen gelandeten Maschinen und Besatzungen:

Type
Ju 87G-2
Ju 87D-5
Ju 87D-5
FW 190A-8
FW 190A-6
FW 190F-8
FW 190F-8


Zusatzinformation

Ju 87G-2 W.Nr 494110, Schwarze <- + -, Stab/SG 2
Die von Hans-Ulrich Rudel geflogene Maschine war in den Farben RLM 70/71/65 lackiert. Die Geschwaderkommodore Markierungen waren schwarz mit einer weißen Einfass. Balkenkreuz und Hakenkreuz wurden wie in den letzten Kriegsmonaten üblich, in vereinfachter Form aufgebracht. Die sechsstellige Werknummer war schwarz. Der original in RLM 70 lackierte Spinner wurde lediglich durch eine weiße Spiral ergänzt. Am Leitwerk, zwei weiße diagonale Linien, die auf einigen Maschinen des SG 2 zu sehen waren. Auf der linken Tragfläche war noch das gelbe V aufgebracht. Dies diente zur Identifizierung der Luftflotte 4 zugehörigen Maschinen. Hans-Ulrich Rudel machte mit der Maschine Bruch, um diese nicht in flugfähigen Zustand an die Amerikaner zu übergeben.

Ju 87D-5 W.Nr. unbekannt, + TU, 10.(Pz.)/SG 2
Diese Maschine transportierte u.a. auch eine Zivilistin. Wohl die Freundin von einem der Besatzungsmitglieder. Aus diesem Grund wurde die Maschine wohl beim Landen nicht zerstört. Namen sind leider nicht bekannt. Die Maschine war ebenfalls in den Farben RLM 70/71/65 lackiert. Die ehemaligen Kennungen und das gelbe Rumpfband wurden wahrscheinlich mit RLM 02 übermalt. Ebenso die hinteren Verkleidungen des Hauptfahrwerks. Balken- und Hakenkreuz waren wie schon bei Rudels Maschine beschrieben aufgebracht. Das gelbes V unter der linken Tragfläche und zwei weiße Linien am Leitwerk waren ebenfalls aufgemalt. Weitere Besonderheiten der Maschine: Gestänge für Seglerschlepp, abmontierte Sturzflugbremsen. Auffallend ist die fehlende Geschwaderkennung T6 vor dem Balkenkreuz.

Ju 87D-5 W.Nr. unbekannt, + VU, 10.(Pz.)/SG 2
Diese von Oblt. Schwirblat geflogene Maschine wurde ebenfalls bei der Landung zerstört. Die Tarnung unterschied sich nur leicht zu den anderen Maschinen. Das Rumpfband wurde übermalt. Balken- und Hakenkreuz hatten eine schwarze Füllung. Die Geschwaderkennung T6 war ebenfalls nicht aufgebracht.



Ganz besonders möchte mich bei Andrey Arthy bedanken, der mir gestattete den Inhalt seiner Webseite als Basis für meinen Artikel zu verwenden.
 
Seitenanfang
 
 
 
 
Junkers Ju 87 Stuka
Literatur / Referenzen:
 

Junkers Ju 87 Stuka

 

Robert Michulec, Mushroom Model Publications

Die 3 abgebildeten Ju 87 Farbprofile stammen aus einer ganzen Serie von Farbprofilen die in dem o.g. Buch publiziert wurden. Mein Dank geht hier an das Team von Mushroom Model Publications für die Chance meine Arbeiten zu publizieren.

 
     
 
 
 
 
 
  über den Autor:      
 

Simon Schatz

     
         
  Ich bin 1978 in Wien geboren und von Beruf technischer Angestellter in einem Architekturbüro. Seit meinem 12. Lebensjahr baue ich Modelle. Begonnen hat alles mit einer F-16 Fighting Falcon in 1/32. Dann folgten einige Autos und Lastkraftwagen. Mit einer Heinkel He 111 H-6 in 1/72 wurde mein Interesse an der ehemaligen Deutschen Luftwaffe geweckt. Seit dem Jahr 2001 erstelle ich auch Farbprofile. Einige davon wurden bereits in facheinschlägigen Büchern und Zeitschriften veröffentlicht.

Beim Erstellen von Farbprofilen gilt jedenfalls der gleiche Grundsatz wie im Modellbau: Learning by Doing. Um meine Leidenschaften ausüben zu können muss natürlich die nötige Fachliteratur angeschafft werden. Zwar kein billiges, aber ein schönes und interessantes Hobby, v.a. wenn die Sammlung durch antiquarische Luftfahrtbücher und Zeitungen ergänzt wird.
  Simon Schatz  
         
  Email:      
       
         
 
 
 
 
Start   Profilübersicht   Sitemap
Seitenanfang
   
   
Diese Seite:  PROFILE: Junkers Ju 87 des Schlachtgeschwaders 2 "Immelmann"
wurde zuletzt geändert am: 14.09.2008
Die URL dieser Seite ist: http://www.rlm.at/cont/profil18.htm

  Copyright www.rlm.at und der mitwirkenden Autoren. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Nutzungsbedingungen: Sämtliches Material auf dieser Site unterliegt dem Copyright und darf nur für den persönlichen Gebrauch verwendet werden. Sie müssen den Autor und/oder den Herausgeber kontaktieren für die Erlaubnis, Material dieser Site für einen anderen Zweck als für den persönlichen Gebrauch zu verwenden!