Start   Profiles Menue
zur deutschen Version

Junkers Ju 88 G-6

Luftwaffe Aviation Art - Color profiles by Simon Schatz

 
 
Junkers Ju 88 G-6
 
 
Markings

C9+AR, W.Nr. 623211, 7./NJG 5, Dübendorf, Switzerland, 30th April 1945


References / profiles

Grenzverletzungen 1939 bis 1945 - Landung im Morgengrauen
Hans-Heiri Stapfer, Cockpit Magazine June 1995


Additional informations

Ju 88 G-6, W.Nr. 623211 with the call letters C9+AR was assigned to the 5.Staffel of Nachtjagdgeschwader 5. The aircraft was equipped with the most modern radar available at that time. It had the FuG-218 V/R "Neptune", FuG -217 R, FuG- 15, FuG -10, FuG- 6 and FuG- 101. Since the aircraft was also used in the night ground attack role against enemy ground troops it had the factory applied RLM 75/76 camouflage painted over with dark green colors. The aircraft also had ETC bomb racks. Further armament consisted of 4 MG 151 in the nose and two MG 151 "Schräge Musik" firing upward in the rear fuselage.

On April 30.1945 at 01:30 hours this aircraft took off with an unusual crew. On board was the commander of 8./NJG 5 Hauptmann Hopf, as well as Oberleutnant Dressler also from 8./NJG 5 and Oberleutnant Erhard of 10./ NJG 11. The wives of Hopf and Dressler as well as Hopf's six year old daughter were also on board. Their destination was neutral Switzerland. At 05:15 hours Hauptmann Hopf was able to land safely at Dübendorf airport.

The aircraft was "improved" during the summer of 1945 by the Swiss air force. The black markings on the fuselage and the tail were painted over in white. The W. Nr. was also painted over. Later the aircraft received Swiss markings. On 25. September 1949 the aircraft had its last public viewing and shortly thereafter it became a victim of the welding torch.
top of page
 
 
 
 
 
  meet the Author:      
 

Simon Schatz

     
         
  1978 I was born in Vienna and I am working as technical employee in an architect's office. I am building plastic models since I am 12. It started with a F-16 Fighting Falcon in 1/32, which was followed by a few cars and trucks. A Heinkel He111 H-6 in 1/72 brood my interest for the German Luftwaffe. Since 2001 I am creating color profiles also.

Some of them have been already published in relevant magazines and books. The motto for building models and drawing profiles is the same: Learning by Doing. To practise my passion it is required to collect the necessary documentation, an expensive, but interesting hobby, especially when I can obtain rare second hand aviation antiquars.
  Simon Schatz  
         
  Email:      
       
         
 
 
 
 
Start   Profiles Menue   Sitemap
top of page
   
   
This page:  PROFILES: Junkers Ju 88 G-6
was last modified on: Sep 17, 2006
The URL of the page is: http://www.rlm.at/cont/profil13_e.htm

Translation into English by Werner Stocker (Ft. Myers, FL USA).

  Copyright www.rlm.at and the contributing author(s). All Rights Reserved. Used with permission.

Terms of use: All material within this site is protected under copyright and may only be reproduced for personal use. You must contact the Author(s) and/or Editor for permission to use any material on this site for any purpose other than private use!

Start   Profilübersicht
to the english version

Junkers Ju 88 G-6

Luftwaffe Aviation Art - Profile von Simon Schatz

 
 
Junkers Ju 88 G-6
 
 
Markierungen

C9+AR, W.Nr. 623211, 7./NJG 5, Dübendorf, Schweiz, 30. April 1945


Referenzfotos / Profile

Grenzverletzungen 1939 bis 1945 - Landung im Morgengrauen
Hans-Heiri Stapfer, Cockpit Heft Juni 1995


Zusatzinformation

Die Ju 88 G-6, W.Nr. 623211 mit der Kennung C9+AR war der 7. Staffel des Nachtjagdgeschwader 5 zugeteilt. Die Maschine war mit den modernsten Radargeräten ausgestattet. u.a. dem FuG-218 V/R "Neptun", FuG-217R, FuG-15, FuG-10, FuG-6 und FuG-101. Da die Maschine auch für Nachtschlacht-einsätze gegen feindliche Bodentruppen eingesetzt wurde, übermalte man die werkseitig angebrachte RLM75/76 Tarnung mit dunkelgrünen Farben. Ebenso erhielt die Maschine ETC-Bombenschlösser. Weitere Bewaffnung: 4 MG 151 in der Rumpfgondel, 2 MG 151 "Schräge Musik" im hinteren Rumpfraum.

Am 30.April 1945 um 01:30 Uhr startete diese Maschine mit einer ganz ungewöhnlichen Besatzung. An Bord gingen der Kommandant der 8./NJG, Hauptmann Hopf, Oberleutnant Dressler, ebenfalls von der 8./NJG 5, Oberleutnant Erhard von der 10./NJG 11und die Ehefrauen von Hopf und Dressler, sowie die 6 jährige Tochter der Familie Hopf. Ziel war die neutrale Schweiz. Um 05:15 Uhr gelang Hauptmann Hopf die Landung in Dübendorf.

Die Maschine wurde im Sommer 1945 von den Schweizer Fliegertruppen "verschönert". Die schwarzen Kennungen am Rumpf und Leitwerk wurden weiß übermalt. Die Werknummer wurde ebenfalls aufgemalt. Später erhielt die Maschine Schweizer Kennzeichen. Am 25.September 1949 wurde die Maschine ein letztes mal der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert. Kurze Zeit später fiel sie dem Schweißbrenner zum Opfer.
 
Seitenanfang
 
 
 
 
Jet & Prop
 
Die Ju 88 G-6 Farbprofile wurden in der deutschen Luftfahrtzeitschrift Jet & Prop Ausgabe 6/05 abgedruckt.

Diese ergänzten einen ganz hervorragenden Artikel der in der Jet& Prop Ausgabe 4/05 publiziert wurde.
 
     
 
 
 
 
 
  über den Autor:      
 

Simon Schatz

     
         
  Ich bin 1978 in Wien geboren und von Beruf technischer Angestellter in einem Architekturbüro. Seit meinem 12. Lebensjahr baue ich Modelle. Begonnen hat alles mit einer F-16 Fighting Falcon in 1/32. Dann folgten einige Autos und Lastkraftwagen. Mit einer Heinkel He 111 H-6 in 1/72 wurde mein Interesse an der ehemaligen Deutschen Luftwaffe geweckt. Seit dem Jahr 2001 erstelle ich auch Farbprofile. Einige davon wurden bereits in facheinschlägigen Büchern und Zeitschriften veröffentlicht.

Beim Erstellen von Farbprofilen gilt jedenfalls der gleiche Grundsatz wie im Modellbau: Learning by Doing. Um meine Leidenschaften ausüben zu können muss natürlich die nötige Fachliteratur angeschafft werden. Zwar kein billiges, aber ein schönes und interessantes Hobby, v.a. wenn die Sammlung durch antiquarische Luftfahrtbücher und Zeitungen ergänzt wird.
  Simon Schatz  
         
  Email:      
       
         
 
 
 
 
Start   Profilübersicht   Sitemap
Seitenanfang
   
   
Diese Seite:  PROFILE: Junkers Ju 88 G-6
wurde zuletzt geändert am: 17.09.2006
Die URL dieser Seite ist: http://www.rlm.at/cont/profil13.htm

  Copyright www.rlm.at und der mitwirkenden Autoren. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Nutzungsbedingungen: Sämtliches Material auf dieser Site unterliegt dem Copyright und darf nur für den persönlichen Gebrauch verwendet werden. Sie müssen den Autor und/oder den Herausgeber kontaktieren für die Erlaubnis, Material dieser Site für einen anderen Zweck als für den persönlichen Gebrauch zu verwenden!