Start   Profiles Menue
zur deutschen Version

Focke Wulf Fw 190 A-8/R-2, flown by Willi Maximowitz

Luftwaffe Aviation Art - Color profiles by Simon Schatz

 
 
Focke Wulf Fw 190 A-8/R-2, flown by Willi Maximowitz
 
 
Markings

"Black 8", flown by Unteroffizier Willi Maximowitz, IV./JG 3, 11.Staffel, Dreux, June 1944


References / profiles

Luftwaffe at War: Focke Wulf 190 Defending the Reich 1943-1945, Morten Jessen
Greenhill Books, page 38

Osprey Aircraft of the Aces: Focke-Wulf Fw 190 Aces of the Western Front, John Weal
Osprey Aerospace, pages 62, 76


Additional informations

The aircraft is painted in RLM 74/75/76 and carries the white band ( Reichsverteidigungsband ) with the black curved bar for group identification, typical for Jagdgeschwader 3. The exhaust gas eagle is RLM 22 black, outlined in red. The propeller is RLM 70 blackgreen. The spinner is black with a yellow coil. The wing leading edge is painted in a wavy pattern.
 
top of page
Warrant officer Willi Maximowitz

was born on Jan 29, 1920 in Wuppertal-Barnen. Non commissioned officer Maximowitz volunteered for Sturmstaffel 1 towards the end of 1943. On Jan 30, 1944 he shot down his first four engined bomber, a B-24. On Mar 23, 1944 a third bomber ( B-17 ) fell victim to his MG's. His Fw 190 A-6, W.Nr. 551 099, "White 10" was hit and the injured Maximowitz had to perform an emergency landing near Wuppertal. By end of April he was back in service and on Apr 29, 1944 he shot down another B-17. On May 8, 1944 the Sturmstaffel 1 has been integrated to IV./JG 3, as 11. Staffel. During June 1944 the IV. Group acted as ground support in Normandy. Those operations were based at the airport of Dreux in France.

As from July orders changed and operations against US bombers were again on the list. On Jul 30, 1944 Willi Maximowitz was promoted to staff sergeant. He was again wounded during a crash while landing in his Fw 190 A-8/R-2, W.Nr. 680 756. After his recovery he served as Katschmarek for group commander, Captain Wilhelm Moritz. IV./JG 3 was relocated to the Eastern front in February 1945, where Willi Maximowitz could score another 12 victories. On Apr 20, 1945 warrant officer Maximowitz did not return from combat mission. Most probably he has been shut down near Frankfurt/Oder from Russian fighters.

Willi Maximowitz shot down 27 enemy aircraft, including 15 four engined bombers. For his efforts in air combat, he was awarded with the German Cross in Gold.
 
 
 
 
 
  meet the Author:      
 

Simon Schatz

     
         
  1978 I was born in Vienna and I am working as technical employee in an architect's office. I am building plastic models since I am 12. It started with a F-16 Fighting Falcon in 1/32, which was followed by a few cars and trucks. A Heinkel He111 H-6 in 1/72 brood my interest for the German Luftwaffe. Since 2001 I am creating color profiles also.

Some of them have been already published in relevant magazines and books. The motto for building models and drawing profiles is the same: Learning by Doing. To practise my passion it is required to collect the necessary documentation, an expensive, but interesting hobby, especially when I can obtain rare second hand aviation antiquars.
  Simon Schatz  
         
  Email:      
       
         
 
 
 
 
Start   Profiles Menue   Sitemap
top of page
   
   
This page:  PROFILES: Focke Wulf Fw 190 A-8/R-2, flown by Willi Maximowitz
was last modified on: Mar 5, 2006
The URL of the page is: http://www.rlm.at/cont/profil09_e.htm

  Copyright www.rlm.at and the contributing author(s). All Rights Reserved. Used with permission.

Terms of use: All material within this site is protected under copyright and may only be reproduced for personal use. You must contact the Author(s) and/or Editor for permission to use any material on this site for any purpose other than private use!

Start   Profilübersicht
to the english version

Focke Wulf Fw 190 A-8/R-2, geflogen von Willi Maximowitz

Luftwaffe Aviation Art - Profile von Simon Schatz

 
 
Focke Wulf Fw 190 A-8/R-2, geflogen von Willi Maximowitz
 
 
Markierungen

"Schwarze 8", geflogen von Unteroffizier Willi Maximowitz, IV./JG 3, 11. Staffel, Dreux, Juni 1944


Referenzfotos / Profile

Luftwaffe at War: Focke Wulf 190 Defending the Reich 1943-1945, Morten Jessen
Greenhill Books - Seite 38

Osprey Aircraft of the Aces: Focke-Wulf Fw 190 Aces of the Western Front, John Weal
Osprey Aerospace - Seiten 62, 76


Zusatzinformation

Die Maschine ist in den Farben RLM 74/75/76 lackiert und trägt das für das Jagdgeschwader 3 typische weiße Reichsverteidigungsband mit schwarzem geschwungenem Gruppenbalken. Der Abgasadler ist RLM 22 Schwarz und hat eine rote Begrenzungslinie. Die Propellerblätter sind RLM 70 Schwarzgrün. Der Spinner ist schwarz mit einer gelben Spirale versehen. Die Flügelvorderkante ist im Wellenverlauf lackiert.
 
Seitenanfang
Oberfeldwebel Willi Maximowitz

wurde am 29. Januar 1920 in Wuppertal-Barnen geboren. Unteroffizier Maximowitz meldete sich Ende 1943 freiwillig für die Sturmstaffel 1. Am 30.Januar 1944 schoss er seinen ersten "Viermot", eine B-24, ab. Am 23. März wurde sein 3. viermotoriger Bomber Opfer seiner Mg´s (B-17). Seine Fw 190 A-6, W.Nr. 551099, "Weiße 10" wurde getroffen, und Maximowitz musste verletzt bei Wuppertal notlanden. Ende April stand er wieder im Einsatz und schoss am 29.April eine weitere B-17 ab. Am 8. Mai 1944 wurde die Sturmstaffel 1 in die IV./JG 3, als 11. Staffel, integriert. Im Juni 1944 flog die IV. Gruppe Bodenunterstützung in der Normandie. Diese Einsätze wurden vom Flugplatz Dreux in Frankreich geflogen.

Ab Juli wurden wieder Einsätze gegen die amerikanischen Bomberströme geflogen. Am 30 Juli wurde Willi Maximowitz zum Feldwebel befördert. Bei einem Landeunfall in seiner Fw 190 A-8/R-2, W.Nr. 680756, wurde er erneut verwundet. Nach seiner Rückkehr flog er als Katschmarek für Gruppenkommandeur Hauptmann Wilhelm Moritz. Im Februar 1945 wurde die IV./JG 3 an die Ostfront verlegt. Dort gelangen Willi Maximowitz noch weitere 12 Luftsiege. Am 20. April 1945 kehrte Oberfeldwebel Maximowitz nicht von seinem Feindflug zurück. Er wurde möglicherweise bei Frankfurt an der Oder von russischen Jägern abgeschossen.

Willi Maximowitz schoss 27 feindliche Flugzeuge ab, 15 davon waren 4-motorige Bomber. Für seine Leistungen im Luftkampf wurde er mit dem Deutschen Kreuz in Gold ausgezeichnet.
 
 
 
 
 
  über den Autor:      
 

Simon Schatz

     
         
  Ich bin 1978 in Wien geboren und von Beruf technischer Angestellter in einem Architekturbüro. Seit meinem 12. Lebensjahr baue ich Modelle. Begonnen hat alles mit einer F-16 Fighting Falcon in 1/32. Dann folgten einige Autos und Lastkraftwagen. Mit einer Heinkel He 111 H-6 in 1/72 wurde mein Interesse an der ehemaligen Deutschen Luftwaffe geweckt. Seit dem Jahr 2001 erstelle ich auch Farbprofile. Einige davon wurden bereits in facheinschlägigen Büchern und Zeitschriften veröffentlicht.

Beim Erstellen von Farbprofilen gilt jedenfalls der gleiche Grundsatz wie im Modellbau: Learning by Doing. Um meine Leidenschaften ausüben zu können muss natürlich die nötige Fachliteratur angeschafft werden. Zwar kein billiges, aber ein schönes und interessantes Hobby, v.a. wenn die Sammlung durch antiquarische Luftfahrtbücher und Zeitungen ergänzt wird.
  Simon Schatz  
         
  Email:      
       
         
 
 
 
 
Start   Profilübersicht   Sitemap
Seitenanfang
   
   
Diese Seite:  PROFILE: Focke Wulf Fw 190 A-8/R-2, geflogen von Willi Maximowitz
wurde zuletzt geändert am: 05.03.2006
Die URL dieser Seite ist: http://www.rlm.at/cont/profil09.htm

  Copyright www.rlm.at und der mitwirkenden Autoren. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Nutzungsbedingungen: Sämtliches Material auf dieser Site unterliegt dem Copyright und darf nur für den persönlichen Gebrauch verwendet werden. Sie müssen den Autor und/oder den Herausgeber kontaktieren für die Erlaubnis, Material dieser Site für einen anderen Zweck als für den persönlichen Gebrauch zu verwenden!