Start   Gallery Menue

Diorama "Pirates of the Somali Sea"

built by Stefan Beck (1/35)

 
Diorama Pirates of the Somali Sea
Somalia, Horn of Africa, battered by civil war and economic mismanagement. Since 1991 there is no government, local warlords and clans rule the country. In this situation, many Somali fishermen, who live on the ocean coast, see their only hope in modern piracy.
Equipped with fishing boats and easily available weapons, they board freighters to hold them to ransom from the shipping companies. The waters around Somalia are an important route of international freighters, so good prey is found rather quickly. Allright, back to modeling!


Das Boot (no, not U96)

In 1/35 there is no fishing boat available, even in the wooden-ship-modeling scene, I got no results - conclusion: I have to scratchbuild. First step is the classic approach of a rib construction, planked with "Evergreen" strips.


Outboard motor

My scale modeling colleague Thomas Hufnagel (thx) told me that, if searching for some outboard motor, don’t forget the toys section, with a little luck you get what you want. Fortunately some googling later I found a set. But what a disappointment, after close examination I had to massive rebuilt and detail the motor to get a good looking replica. Maybe a complete built from scratch would have been the quicker way, but who cares :-) Finishing the motor with decals from "Tamiya" makes the boat ready ...
 
 
 
 

Diorama "Pirates of the Somali Sea" (1/35)

 
  Diorama built by Stefan Beck, photos taken by  
     
 
Gallery with diashow function: the direct download of an image on display is not possible anymore!
Please follow these steps for downloading: move with the mouse over the preview image and do a right mouseclick, which opens a menu with following option: save target (or link) as: will save the image in large size …
 
     
 
     
     
     
 
     
 
(click the images to enlarge)
 
 
 
 
Pirates (arrrrrr ...)

Well, pirates are still underrepresented in the figure scene, so scratchbuilding is the only way. Fortunately "Hornet" offer a set with 5 African style heads, but I need 7, so I had to modify 2 European heads. Next I modeled the basic structure ("Miliput") with correct dimensions and hands and bare feet ("Historex"), additionally I mounted the heads. Wellington boots and sneakers are modified "Dragon" items. Now body details and clothing is sculpted with "Magic Sculp", doing bandanna and hair is the last step on the figure.


Accessories

As always the devil is in the details, just pirates and a boat is a bit boring so we need accessories. "PlusModel", "Accurate Armour" and "Voyager" provide the eyecatchers. Other things like grappling iron, fenders and paddles are self-made, the tarps are made of "Magic Sculp", and all the ropes are dyed strings. OK what’s left, right ... painting :-)


Painting

All the painting was done with "Vallejo" colors, the heavy used look of the boat was achieved with masking liquid ("Mr.Hobby"). After the color coat dried you can rub off the latex and you get nice chipping effects. The accessories are also heavy used so used pieces of foam padding to dab the color on the pieces. All the figures are brush painted, nothing special here.

All the guns ("Tank", "Dragon" and "Voyager") were painted separately and mounted after the figures were finished. This procedure is a little troublesome but you will be rewarded with a great look, way better than you paint the weapons in situ.


The (deep) sea

Presenting water in scale modeling is always tricky, this time I choose the following method. First things first, I cut a piece of styrofoam (with a cut out for the hull of the boat), next I grind the contour of the waves into the foam (messy work!!). This is followed by a coating with modeling paste ("Lascaux") to get an even surface.

Now some painting and a layer of clear hardening texture gel ("Lascaux"), for modeling the wave crests. Finally a nice coat of Still-Water ("Vallejo") for a deep shiny look. Well, that’s all folks.

Thanks for your attention and happy modeling
 
 
 
 
  meet the modeler      
 

Stefan Beck

     
         
  My name is Stefan Beck and I was born October 7th 1977. I began modeling very early, probably since I started thinking. Like many others I started with Airfix and Esci. As the years passed and the modeling budget increased the subject matter also grew in complexity. I now build (civilian) motorcycles, (military) dioramas and figures but also Science Fiction (Warhammer 40000) in diverse scales (1:12 to 1:285).

If you have questions or constructive criticism donít hesitate and contact me.
  Stefan Beck  
         
  Email:      
         
 
 
 
 
Start   Gallery Menue   Sitemap
top of page
   
   
This page:  GALLERY: Diorama "Pirates of the Somali Sea" (1/35), built by Stefan Beck
was last modified on: May 02, 2013
The URL of the page is: http://www.rlm.at/cont/gal40_e.htm

©  Copyright www.rlm.at and the contributing author(s). All Rights Reserved. Used with permission.

Terms of use: All material within this site is protected under copyright and may only be reproduced for personal use. You must contact the Author(s) and/or Editor for permission to use any material on this site for any purpose other than private use!

Start   Galerieübersicht
to the english version

Diorama "Pirates of the Somali Sea"

gebaut von Stefan Beck (1:35)

 
Diorama Pirates of the Somali Sea
Somalia, Horn Afrikas, gebeutelt vom Bürgerkrieg und Misswirtschaft. Seit 1991 existiert keine Regierung, lokale Warlords und Clans sind Gesetz. In dieser Situation sehen viele somalische Fischer, die an der Ozeanküste leben, ihre einzige Chance in der modernen Piraterie. Ausgerüstet mit Fischerbooten und leicht verfügbaren Waffen werden Frachtschiffe geentert und Lösegeld von den Reedereien erpresst.

Die Gewässer um Somalia sind ein wichtiger Verkehrsweg für internationale Frachter, dementsprechend schnell findet sich passende Beute. Soviel dazu, nun zum Modellbau!


Das Boot (nein, nicht U96)

In 1:35 gibt es leider kein passendes Fischerboot, auch die Suche im traditionellen Holz-Schiffsmodellbau brachte keine Ergebnisse - also selber scratchen. Klassisch in der Spantenbauweise erstellt und verplankt mittels "Evergreen" Profilen war diese Hürde mal genommen.


Der Aussenbord-Motor

Auf den Hinweis meines Modellbaukollegen Thomas Hufnagel (danke!) gibt es im Spielwarenhandel immer wieder Schlauchboote mit Aussenbord-Motor, mit ein bisschen Glück findet sich da was brauchbares. Nach kurzer Recherche fand ich wirklich ein passendes Spielzeug mit Aussenborder, gekauft und ... Ernüchterung machte sich breit, massive Umbauten / Ergänzungen waren notwendig um einen passenden Motor zu erhalten. Ein kompletter Scratchbau wäre vielleicht die schnellere Variante gewesen aber egal, noch Decals von "Tamiya" drauf und schon ist das Fischerboot motorisiert ...
 
 
 
 

Diorama "Pirates of the Somali Sea" (1:35)

 
  Diorama: Stefan Beck, Modellfotos:  
     
 
Galerie mit Dia-Show-Funktion: das Abspeichern der Bilder funktioniert nicht mehr aus dem aufgeklappten Bild!
Bilder abspeichern: mit der Maus über das Vorschaubild, rechte Maustaste klicken, dann geht ein Kontexmenü auf und man kann wählen: Ziel (oder Link) speichern unter wählen - speichert das grosse Foto direkt ab ...
 
     
 
     
     
     
 
     
 
(zum Vergrößern Bilder anklicken)
 
 
 
Seitenanfang
 
Piraten (arrrrrr ...)

Tja, der Figurenmarkt hat diese Nische noch nicht erkannt, also ist der Scratchbau die einzige Lösung. Glücklicherweise gibt es von "Hornet" passende afrikanische Köpfe, jedoch nur 5 Stück. Also mussten zusätzlich 2 europäische Köpfe umgestaltet werden. Danach werden die Figurenrohlinge (aus "Miliput") in den entsprechenden Dimensionen erstellt, positioniert, mit Händen und Füßen von "Historex" versorgt und die "Hornet"-Köpfe angebracht. Die Gummistiefel, bzw. die Sportschuhe sind umgebaute "Dragon"- Teile. Nun werden die Körperdetails und die Bekleidung mit "Magic Sculp" aufmodelliert, Piratenkopftuch und Haare erfolgen erst zum Schluss.


Zubehör

Wie so oft liegt der Teufel im Detail. Nur Piraten und Boot sind etwas langweilig, was fehlt ist entsprechendes Zubehör. Kanister, Kühlbox, Wasserflaschen, Kübel und Kisten sind von "PlusModel", "Accurate Armour" und "Voyager". Sonstiges wie Fender, Enter-Wurfhaken und Ruder sind wiederum scratch gebaut worden, die Planen entstanden aus "Magic Sculp", Seile aus Fäden unterschiedlicher Stärke. Was fehlt eigentlich noch - ah ja die Bemalung ...


Bemalung

Bemalt wurde ausschließlich mit "Vallejo"-Farben, die stark verwitterte Optik des Bootsanstrichs wurde mittels aufgetupfter Maskierflüssigkeit ("Mr.Hobby") realisiert. Nach der Bemalung wird das Latex einfach weggerubbelt und es entstehen so schöne Chipping-Effekte. Das Zubehör wurde ebenfalls stark gebraucht dargestellt, hier wurde mittels Schaumstoffstückchen die Farbe unregelmäßig aufgetragen, dass führt ebenfalls zu schönen Effekten. Figuren sind klassisch mit dem Pinsel bemalt, soweit nichts Besonderes.

Die Waffen ("Tank", "Dragon" und "Voyager") wurden separat bemalt und erst nach der Bemalung der Figuren montiert, dies erfordert zwar ein wenig Nacharbeit an der Figur, sieht aber meiner Meinung nach besser aus als Waffen die mit der Figur gemeinsam bemalt wurden.


Die (hohe) See

Wasserdarstellung ist immer heikel, habe auch bisher kein Patentrezept gefunden. Diesmal war es folgende Vorgehensweise: Zuerst mal eine Styrodurplatte zuschneiden, mit passenden Ausschnitt für den Bootsrumpf klarerweise, und mit einem entsprechenden Rundprofil die Wellenkontur einschleifen. Danach das Ganze mit Modelliermasse ("Lascaux") überziehen um eine homogene Oberfläche zu erzeugen.

Nun folgt die Bemalung in Türkistönen, gefolgt von einem Überzug aus transparent aushärtendem Strukturgel ("Lascaux"). Damit werden die Wellenkämme modelliert. Abschließend wird mit Still-Water ("Vallejo") der tiefe Glanz erzielt.

Das war’s, danke für die Aufmerksamkeit, und happy modeling!
 
 
 
 
  über den Erbauer      
 

Stefan Beck

     
         
  Hallo - mein Name ist Stefan Beck, geboren am 7.10.1977. Modellbau betreibe ich eigentlich schon seit ich denken kann, angefangen habe ich, wie viele Andere, mit Airfix und Esci. Im Laufe der Jahre und mit steigendem Modellbaubudget sind auch die Themen gewachsen. So baue ich Zivil (Motorräder), Militär (Dioramen, Figuren), aber auch Science Fiction (Warhammer 40000) in diversen Maßstäben (1:12 bis 1:285).

Bei Fragen und/oder konstruktiver Kritik bitte nicht zögern,
erreichbar bin ich unter:
  Stefan Beck  
         
  Email:      
         
 
 
 
 
Start   Galerieübersicht   Sitemap
Seitenanfang
   
   
Diese Seite:  GALERIE: Diorama "Pirates of the Somali Sea" (1:35), gebaut von Stefan Beck
wurde zuletzt geändert am: 02.05.2013
Die URL dieser Seite ist: http://www.rlm.at/cont/gal40.htm

©  Copyright www.rlm.at und der mitwirkenden Autoren. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Nutzungsbedingungen: Sämtliches Material auf dieser Site unterliegt dem Copyright und darf nur für den persönlichen Gebrauch verwendet werden. Sie müssen den Autor und/oder den Herausgeber kontaktieren für die Erlaubnis, Material dieser Site für einen anderen Zweck als für den persönlichen Gebrauch zu verwenden!